Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

I Am Danny Glover: I Am Too Old For This Shit

with 2 comments

Welp, I am gonna say what others I interacted with this year at Defcon imparted in person. Just gonna rip the Band-aid right off, no Bactene, nada….

Defcon has become too big for it’s own good.

There, I said it…

*waits for inevitable whining and recriminations from those who love it and run it*

Really though, the congestion even in Caesar’s was too much to deal with and certainly the fact of getting into lines and then not seeing the talk because you were too far down said line is… Well.. Disappointing to say the least. Add to this that you can see the media later online, why the fuck am I going to attempt to brave the hoards and pay $260 to attend? Everyone says “HallwayCon” now but even that was stupifyingly impossible because the traffic analysis had been fubar’d for this one.

Nope, I am just too old for this shit now. The paradigm of BlackHat is the new RSA, Defcon is the new BlackHat, and Bsides is the new Defcon is really true I think. I had a better time at Bsides and actually got to have substantive educational interludes as well as conversations at Bsides. I attended BlackHat this year and had classes and I also have to say that the Classes were excellent but the presentations were a bag of fail, but hey at least I got to see them. A special note goes out to Matt Suiche on spectacular fail on slides with large blocks of text and his inability to speak English clearly for the ShadowBrokers presentation. In fact, let me also add that he did not add anything to the discourse on the subject by just regurgitating, in large blocks of text on screen, things we all could just Google.

But I digress…

It seems to me now in hindsight that the only way one will get good content and a hassle free way to consume it is to pay exorbinate fee’s to see it so all the other kids aren’t there rubber necking in front of you gawping at all the shiny shiny. Even if you have to listen to the likes of the CISO of FaceCult drone on about how they are going to save the world in between laser light shows (YAY HOOLICON!)

Jesus fuck I am too old for this shit…

Next year maybe I will just do SANS…

Dr. K.

Written by Krypt3ia

2017/08/07 at 21:01

Posted in Infosec

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a reason I haven’t been to a DEFCON in over a decade… Anything bigger than Shmoo/Derby and I’m out… That said, I’ve probobly been quoting Danny Glover in this regard since my early 20’s so…

  2. Yeah, it used to have a function and it was fun. Now it is neither.

    Krypt3ia

    2017/08/08 at 11:58


Leave a Reply

