Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

leave a comment »

That’s why I can’t say enough times, whatever love you can get and give, whatever happiness you can filch or provide, every temporary measure of grace, whatever works.   Boris Yellnikoff

This evening I decided to put the ol’ USB into the DVD player and watch something I “acquired” from the intertubes. The film I am speaking of and have quoted above is “Whatever Works” from Woody Allen.

… Did I just hear a groan out there in the audience? I think I did…

Well, let me tell you that I too had tired a bit of some of Woody’s contrivances. However, this film even with its blemishes is one of his better works in many years. I will admit though, that I began watching this film thinking how the theme of an old man with a young woman (Soon Yee) just is a bit too close to the mark.

The character of Boris though I can empathize with. Old, curmudgeonly, and an uber genius, in his own head. I kind of found myself liking him then disliking him. Often mostly disliking him as he made remarks about the female lead’s intelligence. On the other hand, his cantankerous berating of the little girl at the chess table was funny as hell.

I also love to see New York City in film. I especially love to see places that I used to haunt for those moments of “HEY! I used to hang there!” The chess shop scene especially brought back memories for me. i used to play a guy there who was quieter than Boris, but held the same attitude about morons playing chess.

The story as a whole though was nicely tied together and gave every character a fitting denouement. Each character in the end found love, solace, and their direction in life.

All in all, if you like Woody Allen, then see this film.

CoB

Written by Krypt3ia

2010/01/07 at 02:43

Posted in Movie Reviews, Movies

Leave a Reply

