Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

A Christmas Carol 3D: A Review

leave a comment »

Though I think that Disney is an evil empire, sometimes they do actually come out with some nice content. In the case of “A Christmas Carol 3D” they do a fair job at re-telling the classic story, but they come up luke warm at best on the 3D effects. This especially became clear to me when the trailer for Alice came on and the Cheshire Cat suddenly was eerily grinning at me from my lap! Nothing like that type of effect was evident in A Christmas Carol. This small scene in a trailer did more in 3D than did the whole of the Scrooge film.

Oddly enough, last night I decided to watch “Beowulf” not really thinking about how I was set to see this film today (both are Robert Zemeckis films) and I have to say that I am still more impressed with the CG and 3D effects in Beowulf as opposed to Christmas Carol. The detail just seems much better in Beowulf. Even the facial movements track better for me than what I saw today in this film. So, hands down Beowulf wins out on the CG and 3D, as well as the novel re-telling of the epic poem. So much so in fact that I have a hankerin to find my copy of the Heaney version and re-read.

Another problem I had with this film was due to the 3D technology. The goggles made my head hurt from pinching, the 3D itself gave me a massive headache visually, and if you aren’t looking at the screen DEAD ON, you get a lot of distortion. This is just bad design on the part of the film makers and the designers of the eye wear. A shame really, blinding and giving migraines to all those paying customers.

I suppose that what it comes down to for me is that there wasn’t enough substance to the re-telling and the CG/3D just let me down. So, I would not recommend this film if it weren’t for a matinée price… And even then, 12 bucks is a bit pricey to be in Imax 3D… Wait til it comes out in DVD… Better yet, go rent the Patrick Stewart version.

CoB

Written by Krypt3ia

2009/11/09 at 02:24

Posted in Film, Movie Reviews

Leave a Reply

