Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

The Dumbest Generation: How the Digital Age Stupefies Young Americans and Jeopardizes Our Future

with one comment

For a while I lived just off campus of my Alma Mater and would lament the class of student in today’s college setting. Well, I guess I am not the only one to see this too. I heard about this book on Coast To Coast AM on the May 16th show and I have to tell you, I think this guy is right on so many levels.

Though, I think his contention that the internet technology today allows for too much ADD behavior is true. It’s all too easy to just get the information you want without really having to try, never mind focus completely. So, one has less thinking to do than actually reading a book.

Concentration is key…

Written by Krypt3ia

2009/06/03 at 01:42

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t even get me started. Not only are they stupid, they completely lack common sense, compassion, drive…

    …you can hear it in how they talk. Their tone just indicates they don’t give a damn. If one more cashier gives me that half-assed pseudo emo valley girl accent, I might just smash her in the face.

    I think I’d like to read this book.

    One of the dumbest things I’ve seen recently was a girl (who looked to be 9 or 10) on one of those two-wheel skateboard things, with headphones, texting…

    …and in the dead center of the road.

    Some 15-year-old in Rhode Island got hit by a bus and died because she walked into the street while texting.

    It’s really amazing. You want to point fingers and blame just about everyone when someone loses a life over something so utterly stupid…but we idolize stupidity in this country, so …what can you do.

    Megan

    2009/06/06 at 01:31


Leave a Reply

