Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

The Manifesto

leave a comment »

The image above is of “The Manifesto” a short anonymous tome that is akin to Kerouac’s “On The Road” but with more of an updated angstiness. I happened to be in the local Newbury Comics today and ran across this next to the Gonzo journalism of Hunter S. Thompson.

Having read and liked “On The Road” I thought I would give this a try too. The book also came with an interesting little red flyer buried inside. The flyer is a shameless advertising ploy that implores you to post it at your local university and to talk to your English Prof’s about it as study material.

Anyway here is the first page…


MANIFESTO – PAGE 1
I hated school. I hated work. I hated boredom. I had no interests. I had a happy childhood. There was school, adolescence, growing up, questions about the future. I was twenty-one. I had no dream.

I dropped in and out of college. After three years I wasn’t going back.
Students sat on lawns, drank coffee, held books, discussed ideas, wore expensive sandals and footwear. Professors taught classes on campus greens. Students basked in youth, in the fine times of college. I was told I’d meet my friends for life in college.

Everywhere people smoked, sat on wide steps of academic buildings, enjoyed the outdoors together, like people in glossy-paged catalogues.
I hated college atmosphere.

I left college for the last time as impulsively as ever—free and happy—like I had a bottomless pocket of money, fully funded, like my lungs were fresh and I could still run a mile in under six minutes.

Cars passed slow with the wind brushing up my hair. I listened to the dusty dirt on the bottoms of my new leather shoes. I felt slow like a fish underwater, like a soft cloud pulled along.
I was content to be slow, away from the vague traps between cause and effect.

Birds made noise along the roadsides, up high in the light-green pine needles. I smelled the sandy heat. When I closed my eyes I believed I had a grand future; I had no problems; the past didn’t matter.

I was going to make my life an adventure.

I hated being told I needed health insurance. I was sick of car insurance; tired of people that told me to go back to school, earn the degree, make something of my life.

People went to college and got what they paid for. I hated the relationship, the equation, the vending machine dispensing crinkly-packaged candies and chips.
I didn’t want a high-paying job. I hated jobs. I didn’t want an obvious life.

Where to buy

Written by Krypt3ia

2009/01/01 at 20:06

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

