Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

The Seven Deadly Sins!

with 7 comments

Funny how at this time this week post Christmas the History Channel is doing “Seven Deadly Sins” week. I missed last nights sin, but tonight’s just does me right.

What’s tonights deadly sin ingredient Chairman Kaga?

It’s

LUST!

Yeah baby! Lust! WHOOO HOO! Now there’s a sin I can get into! So, it’s been on a little while and, well, once again, Religion is bullshit propaganda. Sure, lust could be bad if it leads to other things like sex addiction or murder etc… But Hell?

Dig it, the church is telling me that even if I have impure thoughts I am going to Dante’s second level of Hell? Which mind you, kinds sounds like a bad carnival ride?

Shucks… Man I can’t wait to see Gluttony, Wrath, Greed, Envy, Pride, and of course Sloth!

Simple minds create intricate methods of controlling the masses….

Written by Krypt3ia

2008/12/30 at 20:17

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s one of the happier things about not belonging to Rome (or her estranged daughters, the protestants). Not all of “The Church” teaches that. If you’d like a more interesting discussion, let me know, and I’ll attempt to relate the Orthodox (note the capital “O”) position. Otherwise, consider this: St. Spyridon (of Cyprus) used to deliver thunderous sermons on how sex was not only a gift, passion in marriage was a REQUIREMENT. This was in response to Rome’s (misuse of Augustine’s) teaching that sex was what you did if you weren’t strong enough to resist the evil flesh.

    Suffice it to say: “Thank God.”

    xaetognath

    2008/12/30 at 22:07

  2. That’s one of the happier things about not belonging to Rome (or her estranged daughters, the protestants). Not all of “The Church” teaches that. If you’d like a more interesting discussion, let me know, and I’ll attempt to relate the Orthodox (note the capital “O”) position. Otherwise, consider this: St. Spyridon (of Cyprus) used to deliver thunderous sermons on how sex was not only a gift, passion in marriage was a REQUIREMENT. This was in response to Rome’s (misuse of Augustine’s) teaching that sex was what you did if you weren’t strong enough to resist the evil flesh.

    Suffice it to say: “Thank God.”

    xaetognath

    2008/12/30 at 22:07

  3. Which Orthodox church is this?

    semiotic_pirate

    2008/12/31 at 18:41

  4. I’m going to assume the most general version of the question first and answer: “Eastern Orthodox.”

    More specific answer: “I am Syrian Orthodox.” My patriarch is Ignatius IV, Greek Orthodox Patriarch of Antioch and All the East. The easiest way to think of it is “Greek Orthodox, but not Greek” (meaning, I am a member of one of the Eastern Orthodox Churches, and in communion with the Greeks, the Russians, the Serbs, the Albanians, the Ukranian (Orthodox) the Finnish (Orthodox), the Alexandrian (Coptic Orthodox), etc.

    Does this help?

    xaetognath

    2008/12/31 at 23:34

  5. I’m going to assume the most general version of the question first and answer: “Eastern Orthodox.”

    More specific answer: “I am Syrian Orthodox.” My patriarch is Ignatius IV, Greek Orthodox Patriarch of Antioch and All the East. The easiest way to think of it is “Greek Orthodox, but not Greek” (meaning, I am a member of one of the Eastern Orthodox Churches, and in communion with the Greeks, the Russians, the Serbs, the Albanians, the Ukranian (Orthodox) the Finnish (Orthodox), the Alexandrian (Coptic Orthodox), etc.

    Does this help?

    xaetognath

    2008/12/31 at 23:34

  6. (I’m not so sure about the Copts, now that I think about it. Luckily, we’re on the road to rapprochement, and last I heard, we’re communing each others’ laity, but may still not be concelebrating (ie, our clergy may not yet be co-celebrating the liturgy) – this stuff gets a bit finicky sometimes, so if I’ve misspoken, my apologies. But we’re in communion with the rest of those listed.

    xaetognath

    2009/01/01 at 04:52

  7. (I’m not so sure about the Copts, now that I think about it. Luckily, we’re on the road to rapprochement, and last I heard, we’re communing each others’ laity, but may still not be concelebrating (ie, our clergy may not yet be co-celebrating the liturgy) – this stuff gets a bit finicky sometimes, so if I’ve misspoken, my apologies. But we’re in communion with the rest of those listed.

    xaetognath

    2009/01/01 at 04:52


Leave a Reply

