Krypt3ia

(Greek: κρυπτεία / krupteía, from κρυπτός / kruptós, “hidden, secret things”)

Following CJR’s Cue on Plagiarists

with 2 comments

Following Chris John Riley’s lead, I thought I would also make a comment or two.. Or.. Oh Hell, how about a whole rant on the subject?

So, here I go.

Lately, my blog has become more popular with folks through my affiliation with Infosecisland. Since all of this new found interest in my lunatic ravings, I have noticed that some sites ahem, who’s owners have certain histories with the issue of content theft have been scraping MY content as well either from the aforementioned infosecisland site, or even my own dingy little spot on the internets.

Now, as of today, post filing 6 DMCA violation letters to someone’s Internet provider, I have seen ‘some’ of my content come down. Of course I believe that it was really the efforts of infosecisland and their legal team that really made things happen. That said, the last couple of days have shown true and epic irony on the part of said plagiarist copying content that was clearly negative towards him… Wait, what am I saying.. The Rothke article was all ABOUT him! Yet, he still just scraped the content and put it happily on his own page.

Duh.

It just goes to show you that someone is not paying attention to what and from whom they are thieving from.

Meanwhile, there are others who I only recently have found doing the same thing… And now, I turn my attentions to you Elyssa.

DMCA’s coming your way via blogspot soon!

K.

Oh, and I truly would love to see this post scraped and on those sites! The LULZ will be epic.

Written by Krypt3ia

2011/07/12 at 15:58

Posted in Plagiarism

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So I’m not crazy. Yesterday out of other feeds that pulled me there, I clicked around several of Elyssa’s sites, and there *is* discrete taglines at the bottom of postings:

    “Cross-posted from Krypt3ia
    Original Page: https://www.infosecisland.com/blogview/13661-Anonymous-Not-So-Headless-or-Immune-to-Insider-Threats.html

    I was getting a lot of deja vu on Elyssa’s multiple blog sites.This could be innocent, as I also realize there’s numerous plugins that should aggregate headline content, but also offter to pull whole posts. Innocently or not I’ve seen it done in SEO-gaming schemes, and it just tends to look bad, even when the intent was to aggregate/share links and click traffic.

    corq

    2011/07/13 at 14:24

  2. Ehhh it seems intentional in the sense of not having their own reasonable content and just trying to get attention…

    Krypt3ia

    2011/07/13 at 18:46


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

